How to make your own Filofax divider tabs

3 Aug

As I tweeted yesterday, I made new divider tabs for my Domino and adapted my setup a little bit. I’m still planning on buying a real leather Filo in the near future (an Osterley probably), but I’ll just move out of my Domino and into my new Filo with my current setup then.

But first things first: my new hand-made divider tabs (inspired by Thomas’ great blog post):

what you need to make your own Filofax divider tabsYou’ll need:

  • paper of your choice (I took 160 gram paper with mostly flower motives)
  • scissors
  • a ruler
  • a paper knife
  • a pencil
  • a calculator (if you’re not good at mental arithmetic)
  • and transparent adhesive foil

I just drew out an A5 size on the colored paper. Then I decided how many tabs I wanted (I did nine) and divided the length of the A5 paper so every tab would be the same size (mine were 3.3 cm long and 1 cm wide). I drew this part on the paper as well and cut the whole shape out with the paper knife. I did this nine times. And then I did five top tabs. They work just the same except that the tabs are on the top – obviously. I did not bother about the sides of the tabs being cut all in the same angle. I just cut them in whatever angle I thought looks good.

That’s what the finished product looks like (those dirty toes on the pic belong to my 3-year-old nephew, by the way ;-)):

my hand made Filofax divider tabs

I have to say I was pretty proud of myself at this point. Then I named the tabs. I wrote the titles down with pencil first so I could make sure that the writing is the same size. Then I re-wrote the titles with my Pilot FriXion Pens.

The next step is to cut the transparent adhesive foil into small pieces (mine were 6 x 4 cm). I used those to put them over the tabs so the part would not bend or crack as easily. I’m not sure if I’m describing this the right way (as you know my first language is German, not English), but you should be able to see what I did on this picture:

Filofax tabs with transparent adhesive foil

The point was to make them look just like the “real” Filofax tabs. I cut the edges of the foil with my paper knife again and that was it.

my new Filofax divider tabs - done

I then punched them with my A5 hole punch from OPTO and just put them in my Filo. Done :-)

Filofax hole punch from OPTO

11 Responses to “How to make your own Filofax divider tabs”

  1. Thomas August 3, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    Hi Kathiza,

    what a great Post and a very good idea. I really like these coloured dividers. I have tried to do some for my Mini. If you’re interested: http://tommes-s.net/?p=866

    I hope you’re well prepared for Miami! Enjoy the way to there, and every single day of your stay!

    Kind regards, Thomas

    • Kathiza August 3, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

      Hi Thomas, your blog post is great! I have to admit I’ve seen/read it before and that’s where I got the idea for the top tabs from (I had some before – but I just used some post-it index strips). I forgot to bookmark it and I also didn’t leave a comment. But as you can see I got several ideas from your blog post. I’ll link you in mine.

      • Thomas August 3, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

        Hi Kathiza, thanks for the ping-back! I really enjoy sharing experiences and I’m always glad that other users / readers find them helpful.
        I have tried the post-it solution myself. But I think it works better as a sub-divider within the tabbed sections. It’s not the best solution for the Mini, but it’s great for the Personal size.
        I will think about using your idea of the coloured paper, and give the credits back when realising it!
        Take care and have fun in Miami,
        Thomas

  2. Laurie August 4, 2011 at 3:01 am #

    Oh my gosh these are gorgeous! Thank you for showing us how you did this!

  3. Stephanie August 6, 2011 at 7:01 am #

    Thank you so much to you and Thomas for providing pics and descriptions on how to make custom FF tabs! Your two posts are great and exactly what I needed! :o)

  4. bugsy August 23, 2011 at 3:13 am #

    where did you get the flower paper? :D

    • Kathi August 23, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

      My mom hat a whole set of these papers and I don’t know where she got them, I’m sorry. But I’m sure you’ll find something similar in any arts and crafts store.

  5. margot November 7, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    where did you find the transparent adhesive foil?

    • Kathi November 15, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

      I bought those in Austria, where you can find them at any store that sells school supplies/stationery (it’s what we use to cover our school books usually).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My new Filofax Malden A5 in Ochre « Kathiza writes. - August 11, 2011

    [...] I L-L-L-LOVE it! I already moved in. The setup is pretty much the same as in my Domino (with my new hand-made dividers). But if you’re interested I can of course post some pictures of what everything looks like [...]

  2. No Wasted Ink Writer’s Links « No Wasted Ink - April 2, 2012

    [...] How To Make Your Own Filofax Divider Tabs [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

